home news compositions bio recordings music reviews gallery contact


For Orchestra
by Joseph Turrin

In five movements:
Into Battle / Hymn / The Charge / Far from Thee / Honor and Glory

** To hear each movement of the Civil War Suite click on any of the YouTube links below

Premiered on 2/16/1996 (with a second performance on the 18th) by the New Mexico Symphony
in Albuquerque, New Mexico. This suite was composed in the winter of 1993. Some of the
material was written for use as a film score and it's programmatic style is quite evident.
Although most of this music is original there are some tunes from the
Civil War period ("Marching Along" and "For the Dear Old Flag")

Approximate performance times:
Into Battle (4:45), Hymn (3:00), The Charge (4:20), Far From Thee (4:30), Honor and Glory (3:10)

picc, 2 fl, 2 ob (english horn double), 2 bsn, 4 hrn, 3 trp, 3 trb, tuba, timp,
perc (sd, bd, chimes, bells, cym, xylo, brake drum, tri, gong), pno, harp, strings

Theodore Presser Co.
Score and parts available for rental

For further information contact Joseph Turrin at
or (973) 546-3088

Copyright © 2004 by Joseph Turrin Music